Trouble Falling Asleep?

June 2, 2011


Do you have trouble falling to sleep at night?  There are all types of suggestions to help you fall asleep.  Some suggestions are:

Warm milk – reduce alcohol consumption – do not smoke –  limit caffeine intake – do not eat after 6:00 pm.  – consistent bedtime and awake time – turn off the computer 1 hour prior to bedtime– turn off the tv 1 hour prior to bedtime – read – deep breathing – Bach Flowers – remove electronic devices from the bedroom – dark room – meditate – make sure the headboard is facing North – maintain a room temperature of less than 70°F – open windows for fresh air.  The list goes on.   A suggestion that I have never seen offered, but works for me is this:  Remove your pierced earrings prior to bedtime.  They interfere with your meridians (as in acupuncture).    I was having a difficult time falling asleep.  I always wore my earrings 24/7.  One night I took them out and fell right to sleep.  I did not notice a connection for a while.  It took me a while to figure out why I fell asleep quicker some nights than others.  After keeping a log of exactly what I did in the golden hour prior to bedtime, I came up with the earring difference.   It is worth giving it a try.  Please let me know if this works for you. 

 

For more nutrition and health information, contact Dr. Wendy at 231-348-0838 or pattonwendy@gmail.com   Dr. Wendy is available for individual appointments, phone appointments, group sessions, nutritional speaking engagements and is now offering a Corporate Wellness Program and a Stop Smoking Program (Smoke Free for Life©).     

 

Leave a Reply

